• SMSJ61

Our Governors



The Board of Governors consists of 12 members, 7 Foundation Governors (appointed by various religious bodies) and 5 others. There is currently 1 vacancy which is the Local Authority appointee.   The dates in the list below are the dates when each governor’s term of office expires. No relevant interests other than those noted against names below have been declared. 


Satbinder Kooner

Chair of Board of Governors

LDBS appointee - 01.07.2019

Fr Gwyn Clement

Vicar St. Mary’s and Christchurch, Hendon. Ex officio

Michelle Dale

Chair of Staffing Committee

St. Mary’s PCC appointee – parent, staff member at SMSJ - 01.01.2018

Eliza Franklin

Chair of Finance Committee

West Barnet Deanery – parent – 01.01.2018

Ashley Freeman

St John’s PCC - 01.09. 2020 

Shelley Shah

Vice Chair of Governors 

LDBS appointee - 01.09.2020

Rev Julia Candy

Vicar St John's, West Hendon, Ex Officio




Syma Kadri

Chair of Admissions Committee

Elected parent - 31.03.21

Nicci Charlemagne

Chair of Achievement and Standards Committee

Elected parent – 01.01.2018

Lynsey Corkill

Elected staff – 01.01.2018

Matthew Glenn



Local Authority appointee 


The Board will meet 4 times in the 2016-17 year in October, December, March and July.

Committees of the Board meet as follows (numbers in brackets indicate scheduled meetings in the 2015-16 school year).

  1. Finance and Premises (5)
  2. Achievement and Standards (4)
  3. Staffing (3)
  4. Admissions (at least 2)


SMSJ Governors - Committee Membership @  11th October  2016 

N.B Satbinder Kooner (Chair) and Matthew Glenn (Principal) are ex officio members of all committees and receive papers for all committees but may choose not to attend all meetings of all committees.

Finance & Premises
Eliza Franklin
Nicci Charlemagne
Shelley Shah
Ashley Freeman
Satbinder Kooner  
Matthew Glenn

Staffing Committee
Michelle Dale (Chair)
Fr Gwyn
Satbinder Kooner
Ashley Freeman
Matthew Glenn

Standards & Achievement Committee
Ellie Franklin
Michelle Dale
Nicci Charlemagne
Fr Gwyn
Lynsey Corkill
Satbinder Kooner
Matthew Glenn

Michelle Dale
Matthew Glenn
Satbinder Kooner
Amanda Phillips (Associate)

Nicci Charlemagne
Fr Gwyn
Satbinder Kooner
Matthew Glenn

Principal’s Performance management
(3 needed)
Satbinder Kooner
Nicci Charlemagne
Fr Gwyn

Responsible Governors
Worship -   Fr Gwyn
SEN – Michelle dale
Safeguarding – Shelley Shah
Health & Safety – Nicci Charlemagne
Early Years – Michelle  Dale
Target setting - Eliza Franklin – secondary

Pupil Discipline, Pay review and Staff Discipline committees – to be appointed from all available governors as necessary.

J.M. Ridd

Board and Committee attendance 2015-16
(Governors are members of the Committees mentioned against their names)

Fr Gwyn 4/4 Board, 4/4 Finance, 2/2 Staffing

Michelle Dale 4/4 Board, 5/5 Achievement and Standards, 2/2 Staffing, 2/2 Admissions

Eliza Franklin 3/4 Board, 2/4 Finance, 2/5 Standards

Satbinder Kooner 3/4 Board, 2/2 Staffing

Ros Band 4/4 Board, 2/2 Finance, 5/5 Achievement and Standards, 2/2 Admissions

Nicci Charlemagne 2/4 Board, 4/4 Finance, 3/5 Achievement and Standards

Lynsey Corkill 4/4 Board, 2/5 Achievement and Standards

Matthew Glenn 4/4 Board, 4/4 Finance, 5/5 Achievement and Standards, 2/2 Staffing, 2/2 Admissions

Mark Shooter (resigned as a Governor July 2016) 0/4 Board, 0/4 Finance

J.M. Ridd, SMSJ Clerk to the Governors


Annual Governance Statement for the Board of Governors of St Mary’s & St. John’s CE School.  

December 2015

In accordance with the Government’s requirement for all governing bodies, the 3 core strategic functions of the SMSJ Governing Body are:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  2. Holding the principal to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils;
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.


Governance arrangements

The Board of Governors of SMSJ is made up of 2 staff governors (including the Principal), 2 elected Parent Governors, 1 Local Authority Governor and 7 Foundation governors.  The Foundation governors are the vicars of St Mary’s with Christchurch and St. John’s the Evangelist, two governors appointed by the London Diocesan Board for Schools and one appointed by each of St Mary’s and Christchurch Parochial Church Council, St. John’s PCC and West Barnet Deanery Synod and are people who have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school:

The Board meets termly and receives reports from the following Committees:

  1. Standards and Achievement
  2. Finance and Premises
  3. Staffing
  4. Pay
  5. Admissions

Other Committees meet if required to consider pupil discipline and staffing matters.

Governors are vigilant about safeguarding and there is a Nominated Governor for Safeguarding who reports regularly to the Board about safeguarding matters.

The Board will continue to monitor the work of the school to ensure the education being provided meets the high standards already established in the school. 

The Board is planning for the future development of the school which includes new buildings on the Bennett House site and the re-development of the Stamford Raffles campus.

Governors have excellent attendance at meetings.


The work that  has been done on  committees and in Board meetings

The Board of Governors has focused on further expansion of the school and on ensuring school improvement in both Neale House and Bennett House.  In April, following a lengthy presentation by an external consultant and discussion of the advantages and disadvantages of expansion it was agreed that the secondary part of the school would be expanded to 6 forms of entry. This will ensure that a stimulating curriculum can be offered to all years and a successful 6th form can be developed in due course.

The Standards and Achievement Committee has reviewed carefully the results obtained in the Early Years, Key Stage 1 and key Stage 2 and they have also received presentations on progress made in years 7 and 8. The difficulties of assessing progress and attainment without the levels that were previously available for comparison have been discussed and the systems now used by the school agreed.  Governors are aware that this is a particularly challenging time for staff, pupils and parents as the curriculum and methods of assessment change, but will ensure the continuing excellent progress of all pupils.

The Finance and Premises Committee looks at the maintenance and development of the school premises, and makes decisions about how the school should use the budget.  The Finance and Premises Committee approved the 2015/16 budget plan for the school and has ensured that value for money has been obtained.

The Admissions Committee considered carefully the applications of all those who applied to join the school at both year 7 and Reception.